Andre Norton – The Defiant Agents

24 Mar

Love everything Andre Norton has written – not sure if it is my 13 year old self re-surfacing – when I read every Andre Norton book on the shelf at my public library – but I am so enjoying going back thru the catalog of her titles – they completely stand the test of time, providing complex characters, humans out in the universe, ESP with other creatures – everything one could want in a sci fi fantasy universe. Read everything she’s written… and share with every tween/teen in your life. 🙂

3 Responses to “Andre Norton – The Defiant Agents”

  1. Joachim Boaz March 24, 2013 at 5:01 am #

    Do you really find her characters complex? How so? Which ones? What I’ve read of hers so far — Sargasso of Space and the sequel are perfectly good juvenile sci-fi reads but hardly characterized by complex characters….

    • mjmartell March 25, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

      Joachim, thanks for your note! I think you are right – upon reflection, the appeal for me – across her many books – is for her character archetypes … which aren’t complex in and of themselves. I’ve decided to just let my inner 13 year old continue to be enthralled by how Andre Norton delivers the rebel, the explorer, the intrepid…

      • Joachim Boaz March 25, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

        With that in mind if you haven’t read Sargasso in Space I highly recommend it! But yes, it’s nice to read a juvenile every now and then….

Leave a Reply

