‘The Cobweb Bride’ An Inventive New Twist on the Undead

4 May

The Cobweb Bride by Vera Nazarian, the first in a series, started off obliquely. We are introduced to a variety of characters in different places, all affected by Death’s decision to stop working until he gets his Cobweb Bride. No one knows what that means, but a mandate goes out, very Cinderella-like, that eligible girls & women should find their way to Death’s castle.  As the story built, I found myself more & more engaged, so that by the time I got to the end of the first (in a trilogy?), I was reluctant to leave the world. I felt like this was a story I haven’t seen, with different characters and a whole unexpected twist on the undead.  This should appeal to fans of YA sci/fi fantasy, and I am looking forward to the sequels.

Leave a Reply

