All the Light We Cannot See: Astonishingly Beautiful WWII Novel

14 Aug

Astonishing. Lyrical. Riveting. Moving. This book is a gift of discovery. Masterfully written. Elegantly constructed.
On the surface, a story about two young people during WWII – a blind French girl and a German soldier. But so much more than that. We see the connectedness of everything. We see the world. The author brings everything together – I wanted to devour the book and I wanted to savor it. I highlighted incredible passages, I lingered over language. I was stunned by how it was woven together.
“So how, children, does the brain, which lives without a spark of light, build for us a world full of light?”
The book starts slowly – as the French town of St. Malo is about to be bombed by the Allies – and moves back and forward in time, between Marie-Laure’s life, and Werner’s. The world is richly detailed and characters are given dimension and life.
So many beautiful elements, so intricately and seamlessly constructed.
Like Marie-Laure re-reading her beloved 20,000 Leagues Below the Sea, I want to read this over & over.
Tour de force.
light

2 Responses to “All the Light We Cannot See: Astonishingly Beautiful WWII Novel”

  1. The Wild Bookworms August 14, 2015 at 5:37 pm #

    This is one of my favorites too, I love it so much and I think it’s so beautiful! xx J

  2. Disha August 14, 2015 at 7:01 pm #

    Just finished reading it. Absolutely loved it although the ending made me sad

Leave a Reply

