Insight Into King David in “The Secret Chord”

23 Sep

A historical novel by Geraldine Brooks exploring the life of Biblical King David, as told by Natan, David’s personal prophet and biographer. Richly detailed and historically accurate (as far as I can tell), the book illuminates this complex character. Ms. Brooks writes evocatively, conjuring up the feel of an ancient time. Trigger alert – there is at least one graphic rape scene, and much bloodshed.
Fans of The Red Tent and The Dovekeepers will enjoy this look at a pivotal Biblical character.

secret chord

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: